Wrapping it Up… And Other Ideas

So, before I discuss anything else, I would like to applaud the winners of yesterday’s challenge: Kristin, of Not Intent on Arriving, and Sonia of Master of Her Romaine. Congratulations! You both correctly guessed the origins of Ribecasquon: Rice, Beans, Cabbage, Squash and Onions.

Now, that this riddle has been unlocked, I’ll have to think of a new puzzle…

I had a fairly long day today. After coming home from work, I knew I was going to be going out again, so I had to create a dinner that was simple & quick, in both prep and clean-up.

Happily, there was still leftover sweet harvest ribecasquon from yesterday.

Folded up in a sprouted grain Ezekial tortilla, with some fresh-from-the-local-farm lettuce and dill, and a dab of dijon mustard, it made a perfectly balanced (and speedy!) meal.

On another note –

Today I had the opportunity to listen to people read some really great writing. Some of these authors had never read their work publicly before, and they were nervous, but they ended up sharing their work and doing a fabulous job. I was proud of them. (Even though I had not met them until this very day.) There is a special power in sharing one’s written work with an audience, reading aloud and letting the words wash over people as they create images based on your verbal brush strokes. It’s beautiful, it’s almost meditative, and it’s a bit of a lost art in this culture where so many of our images are pre-made for us.

This leads me into my pure delight in conveying, to you, the multi-sensory experience of a good meal – that information which an image can only partially outline, but that words can fill with meaning. Food is fleeting, but if we can savor these transient experiences of taste and texture, we can learn how to slow down and enjoy one more aspect of life.

I enjoy reading your words, your experiences – what a beautiful place this healthy blogging community is.

Question for you: what’s your favorite type of writing to do? (In addition to food writing, if that’s among the subjects.)

6 responses to this post.

  1. I could not agree with you more re how wonderful the blogging community is!

    Reply

  2. I also love the blogging community- so supportive and many great writers.

    Reply

  3. Great shout-out for the blog world. 🙂

    I love those Ezekial wraps!

    Reply

  4. yaay!!
    Ezekial wraps are so photogenic and look so tasty- I need to try those!

    Besides blogging, I love to write poetry and short stories! I guess “creative writing” would be my favorite type!

    Reply

  5. The wrap looks great, I need to grab more Ezekial wraps – thanks for reminding me. 🙂

    I like to write general commentary, blog and am just starting to dabble in fiction.

    Reply

  6. I wish we had things such as sprouted grain tortilla in the shops here, it looks so yum and healthy

    I enjoy writing about politics I find it fascinating.

    Reply

Leave a comment