Vegetables Are Not Just A Side Dish and other musings

I enjoy going out to eat. However, there’s one aspect of many restaurants that repeatedly annoys me: a lack of care and attention given to the vegetable dishes.

This is how it usually seems to go: a well-prepared piece of fish or chicken is served with vegetables as afterthought. Either the vegetables are completely unadorned and overcooked, or they are swimming in sauces that seem to negate their otherwise nutritive value (i.e. a salty sea of butter, perhaps.)

I think it’s time for the status of vegetables to be reclaimed. In order for that to happen, there needs to be a concerted effort to prepare them and make them really tasty!

I grew up enjoying vegetables a lot. When I was a kid, my mom would always add something to give the veggies a pop of flavor: olive oil and breadcrumbs on the broccoli, garlic in the sauteed spinach.

Now, onto tonight’s food.

When I was at Wegman’s the other week, I bought a large bag of mung beans. I had never tried mung beans before, but they always sounded intriguing. Yesterday, I cooked up a big pot of mung bean soup, as inspired by this recipe. The leftovers worked well as a quick dinner for tonight.

As an accompaniment to the soup (I will not call it a side dish, as to not make my above discussion null and void), I sauteed some spinach and broccoli in flavored oil. I topped it with some miso ginger dressing.

What’s one way you like to prepare your vegetables?

3 responses to this post.

  1. I agree! I hate how veggies always have to play second fiddle!

    Reply

  2. I had a WONDERFUL veggie dish at a holiday part Sunday night. Roasted broccoli (one of my favorite veggies anyway) with parmesan cheese and slivered almonds. Really took the roasted flavor up to even a new level! I plan on recreating it this week. I can make a really good veggie dish the focus of a meal, and I agree, they tend to get short shafted in restaurants.

    Reply

  3. I have been meaning to try mung beans as well. That soup looks absolutely delectable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

