Broccoli Pesto & Sweet Potato Onion Soup

I used the blender twice in the process of making dinner tonight. Highly unlikely. It may be the most evening-shift work the blender has ever performed.

I made broccoli pesto as inspired by a recipe from my CSA. I didn’t have the full quantity of ingredients the recipe called for, so I improvised. It came out really well, though, and my husband and I enjoyed the final product.

After boiling the mini broccoli florets in salted water for 12 seconds (count ’em – 12), and rinsing in cold water, I put the broccoli in the blender to chop it down somewhat. Then I added the olive oil, lemon juice, walnuts, and a bit of Parmesan cheese. After whirring for a bit, the pesto was sufficiently homogenized and ready to top the penne.

On the side, I made a sweet potato onion soup. This was inspired by another recipe, but as I didn’t have all ingredients I had to simplify it. First, I sauteed lots of onions until they became wonderfully fragrant. I then added chopped sweet potatoes and water to the pan, waited for it to boil, turned it down to simmer, and added some cumin. About 30 minutes later, I put the whole mixture in the blender and again whirred. After the soup was mixed, I added a dash of apple cider vinegar, & some salt and pepper for flavoring. I could honestly say that this was one of the best blended soups I’ve ever had.

Questions for you: 1) Do you like pesto? 2) Have you ever made your own pesto?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by flpb on October 22, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Yessss! i love pesto and home made is the best, I posted my successfull first home made pesto this summer 🙂

    Reply

  2. Broccoli pesto is a great idea! I’m going to try to make some. Thanks for the tip!

    Reply

  3. thank you so much for sharing this!! i have broccoli in my fridge but im so sick of eating it directly. broccoli pesto… what a great idea, seriously. gonna bookmark this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

