A new spin on Cauliflower

Cauliflower has traditionally been a vegetable I had to force myself to eat. I knew it was good for me, so I ate it.

But today – I finally found a way to make cauliflower that I actually like. Cauliflower so savory, it could almost be a snack.


Meet the cheesy cauliflower bake.
Step 1: Cut a large head of cauliflower into florets, and put in baking dish. Step 2: Cover with a sauce of equal parts Parmesan cheese & skim milk. (I used 1/2 cup each). Step 3: Sprinkle generously with Panko bread crumbs. Step 4: Sprinkle a bit of pepper & nutmeg to finish. Step 5: Roast in a 400 degree oven for about 35 minutes, or until crispety-crunchety.

The cauliflower went nicely with miso salmon & sauteed spinach.

For dessert, a fresh red organic pear (I think this is the only type of pear I like. It’s so creamy). I made a little sauce for the pear with honey & orange juice, and a sprinkling of raisins.

Do you like cauliflower? If so, how do you like to eat it?

4 responses to this post.

  1. mmm cauliflower- love it!
    My fave recipe for cauliflower is poppers from vegweb.com

    http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=18457.0

    I make that with broccoli and carrots too, and it’s soooo good!

    Reply

  2. i LOVE cauliflower. sometimes i puree it with potatoe to make a mash. othertimes i just make a gratin like yours..lots of cheese and milk then bake 😀 yummmo!

    Reply

  3. I was so sure you would make cheesy cauliflower and you didn’t disappoint me, aaaah! I love cauliflower and it’s been AGES since I last had some with cheese and baked… I must do this soon too 🙂

    Reply

  4. […] I got the inspiration from Crisp and Verdant. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

