Soba Noodle Standby, Panko is Supposed to be Crispy, and More Miso?

Okay, so if I don’t feel like waiting 50 minutes for my brown rice to simmer, I turn to:

Buckwheat soba noodles. This time, I twirled them in a sauce of EVOO, soy sauce, balsamic, & seasoned rice vinegar. Topping the noodles was some pan-fried tofu, quickly marinated in duck sauce, soy sauce, juice of 1 tangelo, and balsamic. I also threw on some panko bread crumbs. I’m a fan of tempura, and I figured I could re-create some of that effect with the panko bread crumbs on the tofu. Alas, my overzealous moisture-laden marinade turned the panko into a sweet mushy coating.

Oh well, it still tasted good.

I also had miso soup on the side.

If you have been reading my blog since its inception not too long ago, you’ll notice that miso soup appears and re-appears. It’s healthy, and I prefer eating vegetables such as cabbage & turnips when they’re in miso soup. So it works out well for me.

What’s your experience with panko breadcrumbs?

5 responses to this post.

  1. I just bought some panko crumbs, but I’ve yet to try them out. I assume it’s probably difficult to keep anything crispy when you add the breading though. It’s probably a skill learned with time.

    Reply

  2. miso’s super healthy so it’s good that u’re having so much of it 😉 i turn to soba when im out of time too hehe

    Reply

  3. oh and with your qu – i used panko to make beef patties in hamburgers. they make my burgers more juicy i think haha

    Reply

  4. The noodles in the EVOO, soy sauce, balsamic, & seasoned rice vinegar sounds delicious. What a great combination of flavors. I have only used Panko crumbs a couple of times but now that I have used them, regular bread crumbs just don’t do it for me.

    Reply

  5. I always order miso soup while dining in a japanese restaurant.. but I’ve never made it at home. Very cool that you add cabbage into it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

