Chicken Curry, Salad with Fruit, and Leftovers Tasting Better

I’ve been trying to use more spices in my meals. The more I read about spices, the more I become aware of their health benefits.

Last night, I made this chicken curry over brown rice, as inspired by this cookbook. The best part of it, in my opinion, was the addition of fruit: raisins that plumped up as they simmered, and pineapple that mellowed out as it warmed.

Along with the curry, I made a salad.

Tangelos + blue cheese made it feel like it came from a restaurant.

Do you ever feel like leftovers taste a little better than freshly-made dishes? (I’m talking next-day leftovers, here.) I think there’s 2 reasons for that: 1. The flavors have time to marinate and enrich themselves, and 2. There’s less work involved in the preparation. And less work makes some things taste better, sometimes, doesn’t it?

Today’s lunch consisted of this:

Curried lentil soup

Along with this:

Pumpkin ale bread plus cream cheese, with deliciously sweet grapes.

Do you like adding fruit to your entrees?

8 responses to this post.

  1. I hope you are feeling better! I love leftovers. I totally agree with you, a lot of things taste yummy the next day. I usually don’t add fruit to entrees, I eat it as a snack between meals, but I do like baking with fruit.

    Reply

  2. Recently I have loved adding fruit to my salads.. I your blue cheese and fruit salad looks really good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. oooh LOVe the addition of raisins – YUM!

    Reply

  4. I def have to agree that my dishes almost always taste better the next day. I’m huge on using spices, but I need a review of their medicinal properties and benefits. I’m a little rusty! You’re certainly reminding me that I could use a little curry in my life. Especially since it just started getting cold here…

    Reply

  5. Your chicken curry over brown rice looks great. I want to cook more with brown rice, as I know there are great health benefits to it, but my husband is wary of it. I need to slowly integrate it into our diets, maybe that way he won’t even notice. I have a recipe with chicken and curry that you also might really enjoy: http://ezsrecipes.com/2010/02/11/indian-pepper-chicken/

    Reply

  6. wow delicious curry with the pineapples! my friend has been telling me about this banana curry she had at a restaurant recently…haha sounds weird but i guess adding fruit to savory dishes do work sometimes! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. Posted by Holli on October 11, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    the salad looks delicious even though I don’t usually add fruit to my salads. I think some food does taste better the next day such as pumpkin bread or lasagna. great blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

