A Red Quinoa Meal + Banana Raisin Rye Muffins

For tonight’s dinner, I was a vegan. It just happened that way.


I oven roasted some CSA sweet potatoes that I had drizzled with EVOO, maple syrup, cinnamon & salt.

I ended up roasting them a bit too long…oops! I don’t think it’s healthy for things to be charred? Well, these were only a tad charred. πŸ™‚ And, once in a blue moon, I guess it’s okay. Anyway, they were tasty. Sweet & salty.

I served them along with some red quinoa and steamed kale. I seasoned the quinoa with a dressing I had mixed of EVOO, lemon juice, salt & pepper. The kale received the same treatment.

I think this was the first time I truly enjoyed quinoa. The other times it was more bitter. This time it was pleasantly ‘nutty’. Not sure what I did differently this time.

For dessert, I made muffins!

I had some rye sitting in the cabinets from my Macro For A Month days. I also had some rapidly ripening bananas I wanted to use, quickly.


These were mostly vegan. They did have one egg. But if you wanted to make them totally vegan, I’m sure you could use a ‘flax’ egg.

These had lots of banana flavor as I used 3 bananas in the batter (yield: 12 regular-sized muffins.) These muffins had a subdued sweetness that paired nicely with sunflower seed butter.

Have you ever used rye in baking? How do you feel about quinoa?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Madeline -Greens and Jeans on September 29, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I’ve never used rye in baking, but I’m curious about it!

    Reply

  2. I failed miserably at my first attempt of quinoa and haven’t given it another try. I should…..I still have almost a whole bag left!

    Reply

  3. ha ha… an “accidental vegan”. I feel like most days I’m an “accidental vegetarian”. πŸ™‚

    The sweet potatoes may have been overdone, but they still look good to me!

    Reply

  4. I love that you added maple syrup and cinnamon to the pumpkin πŸ™‚ Yummo!
    And I am a hige fan of quinoa πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. I’ve tried cooking rye, but not baking.

    I dislike quinoa, though. It has this weird fishy taste. Ew. But I’d be curious to try the red one.

    Reply

  6. I love quinoa, although I’ve never tried red quinoa. I think the key is cooking it in a broth, instead of water, or just using a lot of vegetables mixed in with it.

    Reply

  7. Quinoa always tastes bitter to me too. I have tried it numerous times. I wish I could get that nutty flavor others talk about.

    Reply

  8. The muffins look so good! I have never used rye, I should totally give it a shot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

