Comfort Foods

Whenever I hear ‘comfort food‘, I picture globs of some sort of gooey goodness, just oozing, sliding down the plate as its scooped up. Or maybe there’s a crispy kind of element, flaking down into crumblets as its chomped upon.

Comfort foods are gonna leave little bits of themselves on your plate, that’s for sure.

I stayed home today. Still getting over this bug, I wanted to rest. After being inside alllll day with the grayish sky casting light inside the room, I craved some comfort food. At that moment in time, this meant to me:

Creamed spinach


Started with frozen chopped spinach.

Earth balance and arrowroot flour in a separate pan.

Becoming creamy with the addition of milk.

Glopped it all together, along with some cheese, cumin, chili powder & pepper. I let this mixture glub for awhile while I made dish #2. That’s right, it glubbed. It glubbed happily (or so I like to think.)


Part 2, cooking simultaneously. Baby portobellos + onions & a bit of salt, in olive oil (had to add some water too, to prevent singeing.)

Added some bulgur wheat and water, set to boil. Then covered and simmered.


Do you see that oozing? Yes you do. I had to grate some cheese on top, of course.

What’s your favorite comfort food?

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greensandjeans on September 26, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    I don’t think I have ever had creamed spinach! Few things are more comforting to me than a grilled cheese sandwich

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ashlei on September 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    The creamed spinach looks really good!

    My favorite comfort food is probably mac and cheese 🙂

    Reply

  3. it glubbed!! love that 🙂
    I guess my comfort foods depend on my mood. Sometimes I just want dark, bitter chocolate… sometimes I want my mom’s Indian cooking! Usually some freshly baked French bread with GLOBS of buttah will do 😉

    Reply

  4. Yum- this looks delicious! My comfort foods are dark chocolate, almond butter, and french bread or ice cream. Can we say I like carbs?!

    Reply

  5. Now that’s some comfort food! YUM!

    Reply

  6. that’s homey and feel good food for sure! my comfort food is anything cheesy or eggy with lots of carbs! hahaha. 😉 get well soon!

    Reply

  7. “I had to grate some cheese on top, of course”

    Yes- cheese is pretty much what will make or break any comfort food, right? 😉

    I’m actually a big fan of Thankgivingish food as comfort food. Pass the stuffing please…

    Reply

  8. OOOOO this definitely counts as homecooked comfort food ❤ YUMMY TUMMY FOOD

    Reply

  9. Posted by thehealthyjunky on September 27, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I love cream spinach but have never made it. Yours looks great!

    Reply

  10. Mmmm, looks really good! I’ve never had baby portabello mushrooms, I don’t think I’ve ever even seen any at the grocery stores here.

    Reply

  11. Mmmmm, this looks fantastic. I love spinach yet somehow have never made creamed spinach yet. I think it’s time to fix that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

