The Lower East Side, re-visited

I’m a big fan of bagels & lox. Sweet and salty smoked salmon meets cream cheese – that’s the stuff right there.

Tonight, I made a version of this old favorite. Kind of healthified it.


Smoked salmon from PA’s own company: Wild For Salmon. Topping a toasted Ezekial English muffin, with a layer of reduced-fat cream cheese. On the top, a few sprigs of fresh dill.


The open-faced ‘sandwich’ was beside some fresh spinach leaves with a balsamic vinaigrette.


I also made a soup, using beets, potatoes, onions, garlic, green cabbage and dill – seasoned with cumin, tumeric, chili powder, salt & pepper. I spiced this up in an additional effort to restore me to health. It definitely had a strong kick!

If I was truly taking you on a tour of NYC’s Lower East Side in the olden days, I might have also had a nice sour dill pickle. Maybe next time.

On a side note, I went shopping today for groceries, but it was tough going. My sense of balance was a little off, which must have something to do with my sinuses. Now that I’ve been sitting the rest of the afternoon, it’s been better. Even though it was kind of rough walking around today, I’m encouraged that I continue to feel better than yesterday!

My husband and I just watched about 3 Top Chef episodes in a row. They were old episodes ‘on demand’, which I hadn’t seen before. I find that the cheftestant’s dishes are always super creative, but alas – I wouldn’t be interested in eating probably 50% of them. (Mainly due to them being meat-related.) I’m always left with questions after watching that show, actually. I would like to see more footage of the cooking techniques. I guess most of the audience would be bored by that, so that’s why they don’t show it.

Are you a Top Chef fan? Or, do you watch other ‘cooking reality shows’?

9 responses to this post.

  1. Your open faced sandwich looks awesome! I enjoyed watching Next Food Network Star when it was on this summer 🙂

    Reply

  2. I think I just died and went to vicarious-eating internet heaven. New York is one of the travel-city-loves-of-my-life, and I adore smoked salmon. Feel like fed-exing me your healthy version? I’m sure it’ll get past Aussie customs. Um, yep… 😀

    Reply

  3. Looks like a great meal, especially the sandwich!

    Reply

  4. I’m a huge fan of bagels and salmon too! this dish looks and sounds SO AMAZING that I have to make it too next week 🙂

    Reply

  5. Your healthified bagel and lox looks delicious! I haven’t eaten breakfast yet, and it’s making my stomach grumble. 🙂

    I love Top Chef. I’m especially excited about watching Just Desserts right now.

    Reply

  6. I love watching Top Chef, but I always wonder…hmmm….what does that dish really taste like? Would I like it? Or is it only appealing to foodie snobs?

    Reply

  7. Thanks for stopping by my site! I haven’t watched Top Chef but I liked Chopped and Iron Chef America 🙂

    Reply

  8. Seriously, this post spoke to my soul. I am so New-York-sick! I haven’t been in too long.
    And borscht and bagels and lox are my faaaaaaaave. Well and knish. And rugelach. And EVERYTHING EVER IN NEW YORK CITY.

    Reply

  9. Oh my gosh I love bagels and lox!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

