Recovering

I woke up this morning with a burning throat. After calling in sick, I did some work that I was able to complete on the home computer, and I coasted around the ‘net a little until I was too weak to look at the glowing screen. My nap turned into a two-hour long sleep and when I woke up, my throat felt 75% better, although my body felt weird still.

I watched some mildly diverting reality TV and had some popcorn sprinkled with chili powder (a spicy food to kill the germs). It also had a little melted butter and salt – eating dusty chili powder on dry popcorn without any other additions would be like eating the distillation of all that is lacking moisture and coolness, eh? I had another Emergen-C in addition to guzzling tons of water.

Slowly, my energy started to return. I was able to do a few loads of laundry with this energy and my thoughts turned to dinner. I didn’t feel like cooking, and we’re currently low on groceries. Delivery seemed like the perfect solution. I went on the internet and scanned my options. All of the food looked totally crappy. I’m not saying that it looked tasteless, but let’s just say there was nothing that evoked images of health and well-being. Plus: I’m not a fan of getting those Styrofoam or plastic containers that are then thrown out, only to then sit not decomposing, taking up space for generations.

I decided to quickly throw together a meal, inspired by my macrobiotic challenge days (back before I knew about this blogging network, when I had another website.)


Buckwheat soba noodles with a ‘special sauce’ of EVOO, rice vinegar, soy sauce, balsamic, and LOTS of minced garlic. Accompanied by broccoli coated with EVOO and breadcrumbs.

I feel a lot better after eating this than I would have after delivery food. Unfortunately, there do not seem to be many healthy options in the land of delivery food.

By the way – Thank you to those who left comments of health on yesterday’s post. I hope that you’re all doing well. Enjoy the weekend!

And now for the Question of the day: What’s your favorite way to prepare broccoli?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hey- glad to hear you are starting to feel better.

    I used to love raw broccoli but now I’m all about simple roasted broccoli with olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and a little lemon juice. So delicious and comforting!

    Reply

  2. I’ve been reading through your posts and you’re definitely eating stuff I love. I love broccoli and I like it best when roasted with balsamic vinegar, evoo, lemon juice, lime pepper and bit of ginger. MMMM! I still haven’t had the chance to post it in my blog, but I definitely will 🙂

    And hey, thanks for reading mine, I love to hear from readers 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi Danielle – I hope you are feeling better! Thank You for coming by my blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

