How Chill

I wasn’t in the mood to work over the stove this evening again. I’m sure I will be once the temperatures really drop. But this evening, I wanted something that was – chill. Yeah.

Just chillin’.

I had baked spaghetti squash last night. Tonight I took the tines of the fork and performed my favorite quick pasta exercise; transforming the squash into something that looks like angel hair pasta. My husband asked if it was pasta when he saw it on the plate. It really does look like pasta!

I have fond memories of spaghetti squash from growing up. This metamorphosis process always seemed so magical – in the oven it would be in one form, moments later – another.

I topped the spaghetti squash with grated cheese and olive oil.

On the side, there were some wonderfully tender, fresh salad greens from my CSA, topped with a smattering of Caesar dressing and sunflower seeds. Then, some chilled tofu, with a marinade: EVOO, balsamic, soy sauce, honey and minced garlic.

I checked out a new cookbook from the library today. The cover is extremely 1980s. It may be the most 1980s cover I’ve ever seen on a book. I’m looking forward to trying some of the recipes. It’ll be like I’m digging them out of a slightly dated vault.

Do you ever borrow cookbooks from your library?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greensandjeans on September 10, 2010 at 1:31 am

    I LOVE the library! It’s such a great way to try out cookbooks and get new ideas

    Reply

  2. I always borrow cookbooks from libraries…I only buy the ones I really, really like. And usually, I will check out cookbooks just for a specific recipe I need. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I borrow cookbooks all the time, its so much cheaper.

    I scan and print the ones I like, then put them in a folder

    Reply

Leave a Reply

