Miso Medley Soup (aka Minestrone Revisited)

Need a quick way to use vegetables before they are past their prime?

Make a soup!

This evening, I fashioned a miso medley soup, using the following ingredients:
Carrots
Onion
Pasta
Tofu
Tender Collard Greens
Barley Miso

*Note: Never boil your miso if you want it to retain those probiotics! Only put it into water after it has stopped boiling.

Somehow, magically and unexpectedly, this soup tasted very similar to minestrone! (No tomatoes included in this redux, however.)

It made a filling meal! And, for any vegans reading, it was 100% vegan. (Until we put grated cheese on top. But you don’t have to do that.)

What do you like to put on top of your soup?

3 responses to this post.

  1. I am with you, I like cheese on my soup-especially on tomato soup.

    Reply

  2. that looks great!! I love miso and it has been way too long since I have had it.
    I love to crush crackers on top of my soup or just dip bread in it. YUM!

    Reply

  3. Posted by thehealthyjunky on September 7, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I love using veggies that need to be used quick in soups, pastas, and adding them to box foods like Annies Mac and Cheese! Your soup looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

