20-minute meal

I’m usually not in the mood to create a labor-intensive meal on a Sunday evening, even if I know I don’t have to go to work tomorrow. So tonight, I was looking for something quick & easy.

Whenever I want something very quick & easy, but also very nutritious, I turn to my food bible of sorts: The World’s Healthiest Foods.

No – they did not pay me to endorse this book. But, I do have to say: I feel like every household should own a copy of this book. It’s so nutritionally comprehensive. It’s a huge tome of knowledge. Each page reveals new insights. And there’s also lots of great recipes!

I love when I find shortcuts – like how to cook potatoes in 10 minutes. Which is what I did tonight, in my steamer. After chopping up some potatoes (some from my CSA, some from a farmer’s market), I tossed them in the steamer. 5 minutes of potato steaming later, and I added some green beans from my CSA to steam together with the potatoes. 10 minutes later, I pulled them off the stove and mixed them together with a little melted butter, some minced garlic, salt, and a dash of chile powder. Ole!

On the side, I made a very quick Asian-inspired tofu dish. I like to call this: “Quick Sweet Marinade”:

In a small saucepan, mix:
-1 tsp jam of choice (I used peach ginger)
-1.5 tsp soy sauce
-Some rice vinegar
-A splash of water
-A quick powdering of Arrowroot powder (this thickens the marinade)

Stir and bring to a quick boil, then toss in your tofu.



Have you invented any quick marinades or sauces that you would like to share? Please do…

5 responses to this post.

  1. I have the same feeling on Sunday evenings. Lovely meal!!!

    Reply

  2. Mm I love sauces with jam. My favorite roasted asparagus recipe involves it.
    My go-to meal in a hurry actually doesn’t involve sauce. I cook up barley (it takes about 20 minutes, which is as fast as white rice but it’s a whole grain!) and then toss it with just TONS of fresh herbs- whatever I have in my house- along with lemon zest. Just have simple protein and veg with that. Mmm.

    Reply

  3. Oooh, I have some tofu in the fridge that’s about to expire, and was trying to decide what to do with it! I always make up marinade recipes… a favourite at the moment is equal parts balsamic and soy with some garlic 🙂

    Reply

  4. How good is tofu, I have never used Arrowroot powder to thicken my sauces, I will keep an eye out for it next shop

    Reply

  5. What a lovely meal!!
    I made a homemade sweet and sour marinade a while back which was super easy: http://www.bakebikeblog.com/2010/08/taste-of-tropics.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

