Yellow Tomatoes, Eggplant and Chevre: The Unexpectedly Delicious Triad

I’m a fan of Tuesday afternoons. I’ve been a fan of Tuesday afternoons for awhile, ever since I was a freshman in high school, listening to a Moody Blues song on my parents’ vinyl record. The song was aptly named: “Tuesday afternoon” .

I’ve especially become a fan of Tuesday afternoon now that 2 fabulous food/local agriculture events occur at this time: my CSA share delivers and I pick up gorgeous fresh produce, and my nearby farmers’ market convenes.

For dinner tonight, I roasted eggplant and yellow tomatoes (both from the farm share) in thin slices, covered with olive oil and spices: Italian herb seasoning, pepper, and a bit of salt. I set the oven at 400 and took the dish out about 25 minutes later. The eggplant and tomatoes were intended to be accents for the fresh whole wheat linguine I had made. When I tossed them on the pasta there seemed to be something missing…so I took out a farmer’s market purchase: some fresh herbed chevre cheese made from goat’s milk. On the side: a bed of slightly spicy arugula, fresh from the CSA.

The pasta turned out a little on the chewy side (it was fresh, not dried, and I had forgotten to salt the water- perhaps that’s why?), but the eggplant and tomatoes were phenomenal. The eggplant may have been the best eggplant I’ve ever had. I usually don’t like eggplant too much. But this was tender and sweet. The roasted yellow tomatoes were like sugar, and almost melted in my mouth. The herbed chevre was a nice piquant counterpoint to the earthy pasta. The arugula accent gave the rest of the dish the zing of chlorophyll that it needed: you could kind of taste the sunshine and cool, fresh rain that made these little leaves.

I’m having this situation where the time/date is inaccurately showing on this blog as being in the future. It is still August 31st. Does anyone who uses wordpress know how to change this?

12 responses to this post.

  1. The tomato and eggplant look awesome. I am so sad that summer is winding down here and the produce selection is going to go down!

    Reply

  2. I’ve never had chevre- looks so good!
    And “taste the sunshine”–Love it!

    Reply

  3. Your writing is outstanding. So poetic and descriptive…my mouth is watering and I am still full from breakfast!

    Reply

  4. I have no idea on the time/date problem you’re having 😦 Maybe google it??

    That dinner looks way too good!!! What a great food combo!!

    Reply

  5. Yum! I love fresh pasta– we keep meaning to get some from that pasta guy.

    Did the eggplant make your tongue itch?!? πŸ˜€

    Reply

  6. Posted by Judy on September 1, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Your writing is as amazing as your food! I don’t know if I want to eat, or start writing a novel. You Rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

