Lifestyle Paradigms

Has anyone here read the book “No Impact Man“? I strongly suggest that everyone in the world who can read and get a copy of it, to do so! I read it straight through today, on my long bus/train trip, and finished the whole piece in a couple of sittings – because it was that riveting. I had seen the documentary on this ‘No Impact’ family, but I found that the book imparts a broader and more poignant perspective on this family’s journey.

Three take-away points:
1. It is urgent for people to use less resources overall…
2. Using less resources may sound difficult, but can actually make us happier and bring us closer together with others…
3. Contemporary culture is set up to make us feel like we always need more and more to be happy… Advertisers have done a good job of convincing us of that – now we need to convince ourselves that we can be happy without always accumulating more and more stuff . Let’s have more and more life experiences, that’s what matters in the end!

Anyway – go read this book!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for checking out my blog! 🙂
    The book looks great, I’ll have to check that out. I am all for reducing my “stuff” and living in a more sustainable way.

    And for the sweet potato fries…
    I sliced the potato into strips, tossed them with about 1 TBSP olive oil and seasoned with chili powder and cumin. Then, I baked them for about 30 minutes (flipping half way) at 425*.
    They’re definitely not as crispy as fried fries…but they hit the spot!

    Reply

    • The book really made me think about everything I use throughout the day – from ‘clamshell’ plastic containers for my produce to wrappers of granola bars…

      Thanks for the sweet potato fries recipe, the cumin and chili powder sound like great additions. I know I always love sweet potato fries in restaurants, I should start making them too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

